Team

Julie McGowan

Licensed Clinical Social Worker

Areas of Specialty

  • Infant Mental Health

Contact

Facts

I am a foster parent.

I played on the USA National Korfball Team in 2006

I have one sister who is 2 years older than me. People ask us if we are twins, but we don't think we look alike.

"I have never seen a child who could not come to dramatic levels of healing"

Profile

I am an optimistic, glass half full kind of person. I enjoy the little things in life and seek to always see the positives of a situation. I love to laugh and I do it as much as possible! I enjoy my work and being able to walk alongside children and families in whatever journey they are facing.   When I am not at work, I enjoy being a mom and a foster parent.  I was called to do foster care not only to care for child but also to walk along side birth parents and to support them on their journey. I have 2 biological children (3 year old and 2 month old) and have had 2 long term foster placements over the last 4 years.  I love getting outside and enjoying the sun. In the summer my kids and I spend a lot of time at the pool, the beach or splash pads. I am very close to my family and travel often out of state to see them. When I have free time I enjoy cooking, reading and napping!

Education

Grand Valley State University, Master of Social Work

2007-2009

Hope College, Bachelor of Arts in Psychology

2002-2006

Experience

Most of my experience, and my passion, has been working as a therapist with children and families who have experienced some type of trauma, abuse, and/or neglect and are experiencing emotional and behavioral concerns. I am trained in TF-CBT, TBRI, and ADOPTS and also have experience using techniques such as play therapy and sand tray therapy. I have experience with children of all ages as well as adults. I also have a background in working with older adults struggling with issues of adjustment, grief and loss.